Resolution Update for March

Two months in to the new year and we’re still more or less on track with our resolutions.  Here’s the blow-by-blow update.

  1. Reduce overall monthly expenses by 10%.  The final grocery total for February was so low that I think I must have made a mistake.  I came in about $97 under the 10% reduction goal.  John thinks it’s because I make so much stuff from scratch.  I think we had a really well-stocked freezer.  As far as the utilities, it’s a mixed bag.  Cable is way down.  Gas is about the same.  Electric is balance-billed.  Water is down a little.  Still looking for more economies there.  Our negligible clothing budget has been more than ample this month as I stocked up on kids’ clothes at a big tag sale– and got some free stuff too!  Free is my favorite price!  Among the freebies is an Ann Taylor skirt for me.  Just have to move the button.
  2. Move forward with our adoption. The social worker who taught our MAPP class will be doing our homestudy.  This is good, because she already knows us.  She is coming over a week from Friday with a preliminary first draft.  However, this is bad because we met a little patootie at an adoption party this past Sunday who we are really interested in/taken with but our worker thinks it is a bad idea.  He is only a year older than Maddie and has  some “digestive issues.”  Our worker said that she knows that we can do it and step up, but she doesn’t want to put us in that position because it would be hard work.  Uh, I never thought this was going to be easy . . .  right now, I’m really torn about how to proceed on this.
  3. Make more things from scratch. Made yogurt last night, made bread tonight.  Back to work tomorrow and that’s when the big test begins.  I’ve been meaning to make chocolate cupcakes for over a week.
  4. Landscape. Eh.  Just let it be spring.
  5. Reduce our paper towel habit. I think this is better.  I’m pretty consistent about using rags instead of disposables (unless I’m cleaning up a doggy accident or cleaning the toilet.) John still loves paper towels.

Tomorrow is my first day back to work.  It was supposed to be today but I had some kind of stomach bug.  Psychosomatic?  Details on the actual first day to follow.  Stay tuned!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Zoe  On March 5, 2010 at 1:19 am

    You can do it! You are my hero. I love you.

Leave a comment