Food Waste Friday – 3-5-2010

Let’s take a look, shall we?

Um, wait, did a picture load for you?  Me neither.  It’s not because we didn’t waste any food this week (although our waste was negligible, I’m proud to say) but rather that it’s 10:41 p.m. on Friday and I have not yet taken a photo.  Now, with it being, you know, night and therefore dark, the pic will have to be taken tomorrow.  I have a flash, of course, but the pics turn out much better with some day light.

The narrative version:

Just three lonely little items:  a sealed bag of basmati rice from some old, old, OLD boxed Indian meals, sad and limp egg noodles and, of course, a grape tomato.  There were actually two bags of rice.  I opened one to use in a casserole and it smelled funky, so I tossed it immediately and saved the twin for the as-yet-untaken FWF photo.  I suppose the noodles could get dumped into chicken broth with a few chopped up veggies for quickie soup, but it’s just postponing the inevitable disposal because I’m not feeling inspired about chicken soup.

There are a few leftovers-in-waiting that could appear here next week if we don’t eat them over the weekend, including some London broil.  It’s my challenge to eat those bits.  Does it count as waste if I grind it up for my dogs?

As always, if you blogged about your food waste this week, check out others who do the same on www.thefrugalgirl.com.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Alea  On March 6, 2010 at 4:31 am

    I don’t think it counts as waste if you grind up London broil for your dog. Our guinea pig takes care up bits of cilantro, broccoli, spinach, and kale for us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

