Food Waste Friday – 2-26-10

I hang my head this week.  Look at this.

My worst week yet.  Let’s start at 12 o’clock high (well, a bit past 12.)

The cursed cilantro.  I just couldn’t do it anymore.

In the zip lock bag, gray and smelly bacon.  The bag is being tossed as well.

Moving down, leftover Thai chicken.  Usually we eat and eat and eat this because it is so good.  This time, not so much.  I suspect the absence of coconut milk (I didn’t have any, so I used half-and-half instead) reduced the usual deliciousness.

To the left, remains of Indian takeout.  Two orders of tikka is too much, one is not enough. This was spicier than usual, so not good lunch fare for Madame.

Above it, a melange of food past it’s prime.  Dried mango from over a year ago, the overly dense bread from last week, a forgotten half of a roll, the omnipresent grape tomato and four blackberries with white mold.

Sigh.

I think, though, I have finally learned a lesson.  If the leftovers do not get eaten for lunch the next day, they need to go in the freezer in individual serving sizes to be future lunches.  That’s what I did with shepherd’s pie and brown-sugar encrusted pork loin this week.

How did you do?  If you chronicled your food waste, cruise on over to www.thefrugalgirl and post.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • G  On February 26, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    Have you tried feezing cilantro? I usually do the ice-cube tray trick (cut it up, cover in water, freeze the cubes and store in a bag). I don’t like to use it for fresh stuff like salsa, but it works great for stuff you’re cooking.

Leave a Reply

