Food Waste Friday – 2-19-10

First, what’s not here– grape tomatoes and cilantro.  This is because I didn’t buy grape tomatoes and the cilantro is still hanging in there.

This is what we did waste:

On the left, cous cous.  Buried underneath, most of a chicken breast. It’s frozen and I’m too impatient to chip it out for better viewing. Eating left over chicken after more than two days seems dicey to me.  I thought it would be a lunch for John to take to work, but he didn’t.  Sigh.  The chicken was dressed in a cilantro rub, so I did waste some cilantro but only on a technicality.

On the right, a burnt waffle.  I made these for breakfast on Saturday and this one had grown cold by the time I wanted to eat it.  So I popped it in the toaster in a resuscitation effort.  You can see how well that turned out. Sigh again.

Overall, I think we are doing much better at using up what we buy thanks to the wonder of Food Waste Friday and the magic of virtual peer pressure!  😉

Coming attractions on FWF may be a loaf of bread that didn’t rise adequately.  I’m hanging on to it for time being.  Any ideas on uses for overly dense bread?  Dare I make croutons?

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • shyleen jones  On February 22, 2010 at 3:28 pm

    I am watching 700 club (cbn) and I think what u r doing is just great and I am very interested in what you are doing. I just moved my thermastat to 68 and will put it on 80 when summer comes. I just thank u so much for letting God use u by sharing ur gift w/ others.

    • Kristin  On February 24, 2010 at 3:25 am

      Shyleen,

      Thanks for your comment, but I think you are really looking for Kristen at http://www.thefrugalgirl.com. She is a big inspiration to me. Please come back and visit anyway.

      Kristin

  • Carlotta  On February 22, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Saw you on the 700 Club today………I will be reading your blog on a regular basis……..I waste so much produce………I try to eat healthy and my intentions are good, yet, I don’t use everything I purchase…….I’m single and live alone……..it’s hard to cook for one person.

    • Kristin  On February 24, 2010 at 3:23 am

      Carlotta,

      Thanks for your comment, but I think you are really looking for Kristen at http://www.thefrugalgirl.com. She is a big inspiration to me! Please come back and visit anyway!

      In terms of cooking for one, there are several publications that include recipes for one or two servings. Check out “Cooking For Two,” which is part of “Taste of Home.” They also include recipes for one person.

      Kristin

Leave a Reply

