If It’s Thursday, I Must Be Tired

Something bizarre is happening.  As Charlotte sleeps longer and longer at night (she’s pretty much got the swing of sleeping through the night now), I get more tired.  It must be that the hormones that allow the moms of newborns to survive on a cumulative total of six hours of sleep a week have dissipated.

Then, on top of that, Thursdays are long days here at AFTHOTW HQ.  John is at school until 7:30 and we try to eat dinner as a family upon his return.  Every other night of the week, we’re deep into the getting ready for bed mindset by that time.  On Thursdays, I try to hold Madeline off so that John can see her and we all eat together.  She’s usually a trooper about this, albeit a trooper with a little shorter fuse than usual.  Tonight, she hung in there pretty well and then after dinner, she wanted to retrieve her “heart box” (a decorated shoe box that she used at school for her valentine mail box) from the playroom. So she and John went upstairs and examined every card, every conversation heart, every sticker.  It was a mush-inducing father-daughter moment, but it meant that she wasn’t jammied-up until 8:20.  Then snuggles, a bit of a movie and we all fell asleep by 9.

I woke up 20 minutes ago.  It’s officially Friday, but in my mind it’s still Thursday. I committed to posting on Thursdays, so I’m now typing in the middle of the night when both of my kids are sleeping (therefore, I should be sleeping too!)  See my dedication?

And I emptied and reloaded the dishwasher.  I don’t really do the FlyLady thing (detail– click here) but I prefer going to bed with a clean sink.

So now, dear multitudes of readers, some updates.

Our original social worker, the one who taught our parenting class, will be doing our home study. This is good, because she likes us, but disheartening because it means that the first visit isn’t actually set. We now have to wait for her to contact us to arrange a time.  Since I am not particularly patient about such things, guess who is getting a call on Friday (the real Friday, not this middle-of-the-night, might-as-well-be-Thursday-still craziness)?

Sometimes, folks express to us that we are doing such a “good thing” by opening our home to adopt and how lucky our future adopted child will be.  This point of view is incomplete.  John and I feel that our family is not yet complete, that our boys are waiting for us out there and that they will bring as much to our family as we give to them.  Just wanted to clarify.

As per my meal plan, I made El Helper de Hambuergesa and while it was good, it wasn’t particularly Mexican.  This could be because I improvised. When I opened my jar of salsa, I found a fascinating layer of fuzzy white mold so I used extra tomato sauce, added onions, cilantro, peppers, and cumin.  I also threw in spinach, because I’m like that and I try to add in green vegetables wherever I can.

It’s still really Thursday on the west coast and I’m still really tired.  Charlotte will be up in about 5 hours, which means in about 6 hours, I’ll be taking pics and posting for Food Waste Friday.  We have a big day planned– lunch with my mother and grandmother, and then I’m getting my haircut by the one and only fabulous Jeff, who can do anything to anyone’s hair and make them look amazing. I’ve looked forward to this for months. I’ve got to go to bed.

Have a great day/night/sleep. . .

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

