One Day Closer

There is action on the adoption front!  Admittedly, a small, small , teeny-tiny step, but we’re still excited.

A social worker is coming to do a pre-home study visit in one week.

From what I understand, the purpose of the visit is to make sure that our home is physically safe for a small child.  Sufficient fire exits and hand rails, no exposed live wires, decorative sword collection under lock and key, no bags of broken glass strewn about. Our home is pretty child safe at this point– you know, since two small children live here– but now we are going through the house with an eye to overkill and putting child locks on every cabinet. I’m stopping short of bolting the furniture to the walls.

What I really want to do is make sure Thor’s room is ready.  (“Thor” is our stand-in name for our pre-adoptive child.)  I need to clear out the closet, put away John’s books, make it more little boy friendly.  We’ll paint once we are matched.

As exciting as this is, I am nervous.  Every small step makes this course of action that much more real.  It’s not that I am having second thoughts (although it seems most everyone is expecting me to,) but we are now moving from the theoretical to the actual.  Part of our reason for adopting is that we feel God is calling us to open our home. Admitting to the call of God is just not something in keeping with who I thought I always was. Not to mention that people who hear and obey God’s call often end up sounding like unhinged fanatics.

One day closer to answering God’s call. One day closer to fanaticism? I hope not.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jane  On February 10, 2010 at 1:51 pm

    Congratulations! The hoops you have to go through are amazing, imagine if we had to do the same process to have biological children … not that I want to open that discussion, just food for thought.

    I think it is wonderful what you and your husband are doing. We have discussed becoming foster parents and/or adopting older children at some point in our lives. I spent my later teenage years living with a friend’s family – her dad included me on the census one year as his ‘acquired’ daughter. Their generosity was amazing and their love and beliefs taught me much that I am grateful for today. So bottom line I hope to pay it forward one day.

    Good luck with the home visit. And do NOT bolt the furniture to the walls, well maybe just the entertainment unit, and that tall floor lamp, and …..

    • Kristin  On February 10, 2010 at 1:55 pm

      Hi Jane,

      I know, it’s funny– you can just *have* a biological child with no safety net whatsoever. When we left the hospital with our first born, John and I looked at each other like, “They’re just going to let us walk out of here with her?”

      Have a great day!

      • Jane  On February 11, 2010 at 9:08 am

        LOL! I remember having that exact same look with my husband. It was the most surreal thing ever bringing home our first son. I kept expecting someone to come and get him that first week or two, I felt like I had no idea what we were doing. Thankfully it passed quickly since son #2 came along 15 months later!

  • Grace  On February 11, 2010 at 1:55 am

    How exciting! Is there a tentative timeline for adoption after a home visit? Best of luck next week.

    • Kristin  On February 12, 2010 at 2:18 pm

      The original time line was home study after the first of the year, matched in the spring, transition over the summer while I’m home. I *hope* this is what happens, but am aware that this process is rarely without bumps and detours. Sigh. Must cultivate patience!

Leave a Reply

