Food Waste Friday 2-5-10

This week, we have variety!

Clockwise from the top:

  • Unused and not-so-good icing from a cake I made two weeks ago (also not-so-good.) I tried to use this up by dipping ice cream cones into it when I needed a sugar fix but I have to face the truth. It’s not good and trying to eat it makes me queasy.
  • Half a can of chopped jalapeno.  I used them to make tortilla soup and then threw them into everything else I could think of, but sparingly lest M not eat what I made.  Who am I kidding?  She’ll eat anything. But how long does an opened can of peppers last?
  • Half a loaf of orange bread that someone from church gave us at Christmas. It’s now dry and I didn’t like the taste too much anyway. I could still eat it, but I just don’t want to.
  • Cream cheese in a foil wrapper.  The Technicolor mold did not photograph well.
  • Strip of red pepper. It was on its way to becoming a snack when Mads turned it into a dog toy.  Sigh.
  • The tops of scallions. I don’t even know why I bought these. I used some of the scallions in last night’s omelet, but these are looking pretty limp.
  • In the center, a lone grape tomato with something creepy growing on the underside.

There is still fresh cilantro, the bane of Food Waste Friday, in my fridge but it still is crisp and green. I hope to NOT feature it here next week!

The girls and I are off to Connecticut to visit the Queen Mother and Papa, so no post tomorrow. We’ll be back in plenty of time for Monday Menu Planning.

Have a fabulous weekend!

k

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

