Flour Power

I’m posting late, again.  I have composed the beginnings of at least four different posts today, but before I could actually write any of them, something happened that made me think, “This has to go on the blog!”  Roughly, the topics would have been Shawn’s departure, a dog tied to a bike rack, the joy of Murphy’s Oil Soap and homeschooling.  Each of those deserves a post of it’s very own, but today I feel compelled to bring you the following as an important public service announcement.

Here it is.

A quiet toddler is a dangerous toddler.

I need to learn this.

Here’s the scenario.  I’m typing furiously to submit an article for a deadline.  Maddie watching her favorite, Curious George.  She gets up and goes into my totally child safe kitchen.  She is not more than 10 feet away from me and I assume heading my way. When she does not arrive at my side in 4 seconds, I assume that she is silently sorting through tupperware or playing magnets and unearthing the bag of plastic toys I keep on the bottom shelf of a rolling cart.  See, where the problem is here?  Have you been paying attention?

She’s silent.

I hit ENTER and submit my article and turn to investigate the situation with my little love bug.

I see this.

Let’s scan up, shall we?

Now, let’s zoom in.

Could have sworn that bag of flour was unopened.

By this time, M has retreated.

Note the look of non-chalance and the dusty pajamas.

This one is going to be trouble in about 12 more years.

Remember – silent toddler = DANGER!  Important safety tip.  Thanks, Egon.*

She did help clean it up.

* Leave a comment to identify the classic film that gives us this sound bite.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Jane  On February 1, 2010 at 7:46 am

    HAHAHA, mine did the same with laundry soap on the unpaved driveway of course not on the nice clean concrete but the dirt and once with baby powder – big brother tried to change little brother, I hope I have a photo of that somewhere.

    And the quote is Ghostbusters of course.

    Jane 🙂

  • Chelle  On February 3, 2010 at 2:37 am

    if there is one golden rule that all parents must learn and learn quickly it is that when you hear nothing THAT is the time to fear .. brady has gone thru shampoo, soap, sugar, coffee, paint (multiple times) .. you’d think we’d learn but damn he’s quick! .. riley and madness must have dulled our reflexes!

  • Grace  On February 6, 2010 at 1:28 am

    I just stumbled across your blog today and this post had me laughing out loud. Great PSA!

    • Kristin  On February 6, 2010 at 2:36 pm

      Thank you.

      I laughed when I saw the “blizzard”, too. I coudn’t be mad at her!

Leave a Reply

