Apologies to T.S. Eliot

January, not April, is the cruelest month when you have a toddler and an infant.  February too.  Madeline loves being outside, but with heavy, wet snow, Charlotte has to stay inside.  She is too little for proper snow wear.  She has one of those fleecy car seat liner things, but taking her out in that means lugging the car seat around.  I try to keep her face covered but worry about suffocation, so she often has a sliver of nose exposed.  That can lead to more facial exposure and ultimately to her little sweet baby face getting wet.  Which is actually wildly amusing, since she is still quite perplexed by precipitation.

Madeline stands at the door and announces her desired itinerary– “Go outside, mama.  Go for a walk.  Go swinging. I put on my booties.”  I hate having to keep telling her no.  Yesterday we got about two inches of heavy snow.  M wanted to make a snowman.  I keep trying to distract her.  We painted.  We did dishes.  We built with legos and bristle blocks.  She invented a game where the point was to throw every toy in the toy box to the floor with as much gusto as possible.  When I asked her what she was doing, she said, “I throwing, mama.”  I finally resorted to a movie (“Lion King”, known in our house as “Lion Kid.”)  And I felt guilty for letting her watch a movie.  Shouldn’t I be filling her days with educational experiences and enlightenment and self-expression, not canned Disney animation?

I rationalize that this movie watching spate is only temporary while C is tiny and while the weather is bad.  The next baby (if there is another baby) will hopefully not be a winter baby and if he/she/they is/are, at least M and C can play together.  They will probably terrorize each other and I’ll resort to separate movies in separate rooms. 🙂

While I’m certain that lots of people, including the American Pediatric Association, will disagree with me, I don’t think I’m ruining my child for life by allowing her to watch television.  She watches limited fare– PBS (and only Sesame Street, Curious George and Sid the Science Kid there but Rebel Daddy also allows Peep and the Big Wide World), Disney movies (we try to keep out the elements of death and simpering with judicious use of fast forward) and DVDs of Peanuts specials.  She dances to the musical numbers and asks questions about the plot.  We are generally right there watching with her, singing along and answering questions (admittedly, I am often feeding Charlotte.)  I wonder if that interaction lessens the damage of TV.  I hope so, because otherwise I’ll feel a lot guiltier.

Sorry about the quantity of parentheses. (My mind is like an episode of MST3K.)

Stay tuned here for the addition of Friday posts as AFTHOTW joins the Food Waste Friday community.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Chelle  On February 3, 2010 at 2:42 am

    omg .. stephen was ADDICTED to mst3k .. is it still on somewhere? .. and i think it comes with the mommy card .. the guilt over tv .. its worse with each additional kid .. and now throw in video games .. i worry that riley is rotting his brain cells by the minute .. yet i take some comfort in the wii fit .. at least he’s MOVING while he’s glued to the electricity eminating from the television .. thats my rationale and i’m sticking to it! 😉

Leave a Reply

